nomadjoomla.blogg.se

Mapping keyboard keys to controller keys
Mapping keyboard keys to controller keys





mapping keyboard keys to controller keys
  1. #Mapping keyboard keys to controller keys how to#
  2. #Mapping keyboard keys to controller keys software#
  3. #Mapping keyboard keys to controller keys code#

#Mapping keyboard keys to controller keys code#

To map any action to a key, you can use either the name or key code of that key. Remapping keys can be done by running xmodmap on the terminal. The instructions are generalized so that you can remap virtually any key to any other key. Here’s how I achieved the same on Ubuntu. The only plugin used outside of a standard installation of MePo is shortcutter.The spacebar key on my keyboard is broken(long story), so I remapped it on Windows using KeyTweak app. I use no remote control plugins, just have my remote set to MCE remote in Mediaportal Setup.

#Mapping keyboard keys to controller keys how to#

So now I can pretty much control everything I normally use (subtitles was bugging me for ages on how to make them work on a single button press of the remote) using single button pressesĮDIT: Renamed forum thread so its easier to find for others with this remote looking for keyboard key shortcuts Other things I did were create buttons such as 'Subtitles' and 'Audio Stream' and mapped these to the default keyboard shortcuts in Mediaportal, L and A respectively. From here you can then use those buttons as if you were pressing CTRL + W etc on the keyboard.

mapping keyboard keys to controller keys

So using shortcutter I created shortcuts to TVSeries with CTRL + X and MovingPictures with CTRL + W and mapped these in the Harmony Remote to buttons. MCE Keyboard SE has special keys and this is the kicker, there are keys like CTRL + W and CTRL + X. MCE Keyboard has all the correct codes for all the standard keys on a keyboard, like a b c spacebar tab etc etc. Its worth renaming these so you don't get confused which is which (they default to Media Center PC 1 and 2).

#Mapping keyboard keys to controller keys software#

To add them, add the following devices to your remote (its important you put exactly what is shown into the Harmony Software to make sure you get the correct devices). Logitech have a couple of Microsoft Keyboard devices in their database which solves the problem of sending standard keyboard keys (rather than being restricted to standard MCE remote buttons) via infrared. Note you will need an official Microsoft IR Receiver or atleast a fully compatible one. Here's how for anyone else with a Logitech Harmony Remote who can map custom buttons on their remotes and wants to add more functionality to their remotes to control Mediaportal.

mapping keyboard keys to controller keys

Ok, after much searching and playing and wanting to throw things at the wall I found out Microsoft manufacturer an infrared keyboard! So I got this to work finally! So how do I map to something that would use both types of code? 'CTRL and SHIFT' and then a normal 'A' key?Īlso what is the syntax. It also says you can only populate one of these fields and the other should be left as 0.

mapping keyboard keys to controller keys

Reading the Wiki you use the left side input box for standard keys with relevent ASCII codes and the right side input box for special keys which have virtual key codes. If so, what I don't understand is how to map that particular key press. Now I understand I can map key presses to remote buttons in the MePo config 'Mapping' area for MCE remote. Lets say I set moving pictures in shortcutter to use CTRL + SHIFT + A as the key press. but what I don't understand is how I map those key presses to a button on my remote?Įdit: I'll actually expland on that a little. So I get that shortcutter allows you to map key presses to the plugins id numbers.







Mapping keyboard keys to controller keys